Laboratory Astrophysics in Leiden was established in 1975 by prof. J. Mayo Greenberg. After prof. Greenberg's retirement in 1992, the laboratory came under the direction of prof. Ewine F. van Dishoeck and its research was integrated with that of the astrochemistry group in Leiden and elsewhere in the Netherlands. Permanent support for the operation of the laboratory was secured in 1998 through support from Leiden Observatory and generous grants from the Netherlands Research School for Astronomy (NOVA). In 2005, prof. Harold Linnartz took over the leadership of the laboratory, which continues to thrive scientifically with a large range of experiments .